Skip to content

Apache by Tanya Landman

May 26, 2010

 

I love anything to do with Native Americans so this book was right up my street. It really is one of the best teenage books I have read. It follows a young Native American girl named Siki, who becomes orphaned after her parents and brother have been killed. She finds herself drawn to the warrior way of life rather than the usual path chosen by women of that time. She is a very strong and independent character that has to face so many terrible things in life that you can’t help but marvel at the way she fights to survive. I never cry whilst reading a book…I don’t know why but it just very rarely happens. However, this had me welling up and almost to the point of crying when I read this.

Landman’s language is powerful and poetic – true to the Apache voice. Some younger readers may find this somewhat static and dull but it is worth persevering with. This truly is historical fiction at its finest. Nominated for the Carnegie award – I have no idea how it did not win it.

It is also worth mentioning the cover of the book I think, as it suits the character of Siki so well. I almost feel as though it really is that girl’s story – her eyes hold so much sadness and so much pain that you can’t help but feel drawn in to her world.

I have just come across another of Landman’s books titled Aztec: The Goldsmith’s Daughter and I will definitely be purchasing it at some point too!

Rating: 5 stars!

In other news… I managed to get hold of a couple of proof copies at work today; one being the latest novel by Chuck Palahniuk (author of Fight Club) called Tell it All – I have read a few other books by him before and absolutely loved them. This new one however, seems a lot different and I am not sure if I will like it or not but I thought I would give it a go anyway!

The other is a teenage book by David Yelland titled The Truth About Leo, which follows a boy struggling to cope with an alcoholic father. This book has actually been out in the shops for sometime now.

Reviews of these titles to follow some time within the next month!

Also we received some promotional bookmarks for the new Carloz Ruiz Zafon book The Prince of Mist which I absolutely cannot wait for! It will be coming out in two different covers – one for adults and one for teens. Zafon is one of my favourite authors and I have been waiting for this for quite some time now! Only a little longer to wait now….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

