Skip to content

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

May 26, 2010

 

 

I started this book quite a while ago and immediately put it down after ten pages or so thinking that it was not for me. However, my colleague raved about it so much that I thought I would give it another go. This time I managed to finish it!

It follows a boy called Todd who is on the verge of becoming a man. He lives in a place called Prentisstown which is inhabited soley by men. He discovers that all the women were killed by a disease passed on to them from the natives of the planet – the Spackle. However, Todd comes across a young girl, Viola, and together they have to run from settlement to settlement, as an army gathers in search of them.

I’m still not sure what all the fuss is about…it is a good read with some great characters, but there was something about it that just didn’t grab me like other books. It was slow at times and some of the supposed twists I found myself working out way ahead of the main character leading to a disappointing climax. I just found the general storyline somewhat dull and boring as the same scenarios seemed to keep being repeated throughout the book.

It is worth noting that are some pretty violent scenes in this book so it is definitely for the older teens! I know some kids that love it, but if I was to recommend something it wouldn’t be this, despite it winning the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize. I just think there are better, more interesting reads out there.

I am still debating whether to read the second installment of Ness’s trilogy.

Rating: 3 Stars

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

