Skip to content

The Passage by Justin Cronin

May 26, 2010

 

Is anyone else as excited as me about this book? It’s not due out until 24th June but I simply can’t wait!

Now I have to admit I’m not one for all these latest teen vampire novels…working as a bookseller it gets very boring selling numerous copies of Twilight and Vampire Academy and whatever else comes under the new ‘dark romance’ genre. I’ve already had one girl flash me her ‘I’m in love with a Vampire’ t-shirt scrawled in massive red letters. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry…

But anyway The Passage is yet another vampire novel you might say… But I am hoping that this will be very different to the likes of Twilight and attract a completely different kind of audience. First of all this one is aimed at adults and it seems like it is going to steer away from the romantic vampire tosh that is out there at the moment.

It has been said that Ridley Scott (director of Gladiator and the new Robin Hood)  has already bought the film rights to it. I have no doubt in my mind that this will be a summer hit this year but whether or not it will live up to the hype or be another disappointment in the latest array of vampire fiction….we will have to wait and see!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

