Skip to content

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

June 10, 2010

 

I was lucky enough to get my hands on a limited edition proof copy of this teen novel at work and boy am I glad I did!! It came as a hardback edition in a beautiful slipcase with a letter from Penguin saying how I must read this book! A film is already in production even though the book is not released until August. Steven Spielberg and Michael Bay (Transformers) are both executive producers and the cast includes Diana Agron (Glee) and Alex Pettyfer (Stormbreaker). It is set to be a real hit this Autumn!

This novel follows the story of ‘Number Four’ a boy from planet Lorien who had to escape to earth with 9 others and their guardians after their planet was ambushed by the Mogadorians – another alien lifeform. Number Four (also known as John Smith) and his guardian Henri are constantly on the run and live a life of false identities and very few friends, until they move to Ohio. John meets Sarah – a beautiful girl who he falls hopelessly in love with and his new found friend Sam.

Now with all the hype that surrounded this book, it is always difficult to decide whether or not it actually lives up to it or not. Ultimately I felt it did but to begin with I didn’t.  When I started to read it I thought it was a stand-alone novel and was disappointed by the lack of story surrounding the other 8 children – 5 of which were supposedly still alive an on Earth somewhere. This novel centres very much around the relationship between John and Sarah. It is beautiful to watch as they fall in love for the first time and it really makes you think back to when it happened to you and what it was like to feel that way about someone. But I felt that it could have included a lot more about the rest of the plot rather than just their relationship. However, after reading the end I realise that there will be a follow-on to this book and that these themes will more than likely be explored in future novels.

I truely thought it was a fantastic read and cannot wait to read the second one. I think teenagers will love it. It has been compared to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins but it also reminds me of many other things; the Xmen, Roswell (the old television programme), 9 (directed by Tim Burton) and in some ways the television show The Prisoner. So if you like any of these you will be sure to love this novel!

There is also some speculation as to who ‘Pittacus Lore’ really is but it is rumoured to be James Frey.

It will be published in August 2010

Rating: 4 stars!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    June 10, 2010 18:42

    I also go a copy of I am#4. I totally agree with your very well written review. I loved the book and I can’t wait for the next one.

    • June 10, 2010 18:49

      Thanks Karen 🙂 glad you enjoyed it too! I’m guessing it will be quite a wait for the second one which is a shame.

Trackbacks

  1. The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore « Book Monkey
  2. My Top Ten Most Anticipated Books of 2012 « Book Monkey

Leave a Reply

