Skip to content

The Magician’s Guild by Trudi Canavan

June 10, 2010

 

 

 

Let me start by saying I don’t read a great deal of Science Fiction and Fantasy novels – I have read the obvious choices of Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit etc… so I’m not going to pretend like I’m a die-hard fantasy fan.  Trudi Canavan has had enormous success with her fantasy novels and so I thought I would give it a go.

The Magician’s Guild is the first in The Black Magician trilogy. Now I have to say for the first 200 pages or so I was a little bit bored – quite frankly there just wasn’t much happening – the characters were great (albiet sometimes the dialogue was a little cheesy-sounding), but the plot was just a bit static. The story follows Sonea who is one of the city’s poorer inhabitants. She discovers that she has the powers of a Magician when she throws a stone at one of them and it passes through their magical shield. The Magician’s are then on the hunt for Sonea and she is on the run. This running and hunting goes on for quite a while and repeats itself far too much and is a little tedious. I wanted things to develop quicker. However, once Sonea meets the Magicians it becomes a lot more exciting.

I can imagine that Canavan’s work is not quite on par with Fantasy’s greatest writers and that she receives a lot of criticism from a lot of true fantasy lovers but there is something compelling about the world she has created and the characters within it – particularly the characters of Lord Rothen and Lord Dany. I wasn’t sure if I was going to continue with the trilogy or not but after reading it through to the end I have decided I will as I can see it becoming a pretty thrilling trilogy.

Rating: 3 stars!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2012 14:34

    My friend recommended this book to me… she is known for reading the books that everyone else reads like Twilight and The Hunger Games and so on and I kind of prefer the less-well-known ones but this looks pretty good.

  2. imzbiri permalink
    December 5, 2012 13:54

    i started reading this series from the second book, which I think is the reason I was able to finish The Magician’s Guild. Thankfully, the story picks up eventually. You just have to stick out those first 200 pages! The novels to follow are definitely worth it.

Leave a Reply

