Skip to content

The Demi-Monde by Rod Rees

September 23, 2010

 

A colleague recommended I read this and was kind enough to give me a proof copy before its publication on 6th January 2011 as the first in a four-part series. And what can I say? I loved it!!

This book is about so many things that it’s hard to sum it all up. But the jist of it is that the demi-monde is a computer simulation devised by the American government to create a the closest thing to hell in which US soldiers can train & prepare for the harsh realities of war. Only this world is ruled by history’s cruelest and most memorable characters. The most terrifying of all being Reinhard Heydrich – not only a Nazi but the Nazi who’s mind thought up the unthinkable – the holocaust.

 The fate of all the Demi-Monde’s characters has been left in the hands of Ella Thomas – eighteen year old jazz singer from New York – who has been sent into the Demi-Monde by the government in a bid to save the President’s daughter who has somehow become trapped within the simulation.

It might sound like the craziest idea in the world for a novel – one which I was dubious about to begin with – but the characters are so well written, and a few of them surprisingly likeable that you can’t help but fall in love with the idea. I felt completely transported to this whole other world with Ella and loved every second of it!

Other historical characters that feature throughout are as follows:

Aleister Crowley – England’s most influential occultist and magician.

Archie Clement – famous outlaw leader & pal of Jesse James.

Empress Wu – the only Empress in the history of China

These are to name but a few! I was worried that when I started to read this novel that my understanding of it would mostly depend on my knowledge of these historical figures. I’m not a big history buff and honestly didn’t know much at all about any of the figures represented in this book but I didn’t feel like it interrupted my understanding in any way.

There are so many issues brought to light within this novel – racism, discrimination of Polish & Jewish people, occultism, religion and so on. It really has so many levels.

I would urge everyone who enjoys sci-fi or just general escapism to read this novel. Parts of it will make you laugh out loud and others will make you feel warm and fuzzy inside! I certainly cannot wait for the second installment of this series and I applaud Rod Rees for creating such fantastic characters who I know I will miss until that day comes!

For more information do check out The Demi-Monde website as it is a really fantastic site!  www.thedemi-monde.com

My rating: 5 stars!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 16:19

    Thanks for the kind words, Emma. I’ll try not to disappoint with Book 2.

    • September 25, 2010 19:46

      No problem Rod 🙂 Thank you for linking my blog on your own! And just to verify I do work with Jackie at Waterstones and she was kind enough to give me the proof copy. I look forward to recommending it to the customers in our shop in January. I know many of us are eagerly awaiting book number two! Emma

  2. October 20, 2010 14:52

    Greetings, this is a genuinely absorbing web blog and I have cherished studying many of the content and posts contained on the web site, keep up the outstanding work and desire to read a good deal more stimulating articles in the future.

  3. December 1, 2010 02:00

    This is good site to watch.Thanks for shareing the posts.

  4. December 3, 2010 03:28

    Great post! Nice!

  5. December 4, 2010 02:21

    Appreciate it for sharing the information with us.

  6. December 4, 2010 17:05

    I know this is really boring and you are skipping to the next comment, but I just wanted to throw you a big thanks – you cleared up some things for me!

  7. December 4, 2010 23:15

    Im obliged for the blog.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

  8. December 5, 2010 09:25

    Ne’er knew this, thanks for letting me know.

  9. December 5, 2010 22:21

    Loved reading this publish. You now appear on my personal blog .

Trackbacks

  1. Interview with Jo Fletcher « Book Monkey
  2. Waiting on Wednesday: The Demi-Monde: Spring by Rod Rees « Book Monkey
  3. My Top Ten Most Anticipated Books of 2012 « Book Monkey
  4. My Top Ten Books of 2011 « Book Monkey
  5. The Demi-Monde: Spring by Rod Rees « Book Monkey

Leave a Reply

