Skip to content

March Summary: Sci-Fi & Fantasy Month

March 31, 2011

I’m really glad I managed to do a Sci-fi & Fantasy month on my blog, and I hope you’ve enjoyed it too! It’s got me reading some books that I’ve been meaning to for a while now, and has made me realise what I do and do not like about the genre. Here is an overview of my reviews for March, and instead of having one book of the month I’ve been forced to choose two thanks to the incredible novels I read this month.

Books of the Month

  

The City and The City by China Mieville and The Name of the Wind  by Patrick Rothfuss are both extremely different novels but both have managed to draw me in to these worlds and make me never want to leave. Both Mieville and Rothfuss are extremely talented writers who I will definitely be reading more from in the future.

A sample of my review of The City and The City:

“I urge everyone to read this whether you like Science Fiction or not. Miéville has created something unique that will make you question whether Orwell’s 1984 really was that great in comparison”

A sample of my review of The Name of the Wind:

“I do believe Rothfuss has achieved something incredible – something that will stay with you for a very long time, and for me, it is definitely up there with the works of Tolkien. I am in awe of his imagination and creativity as a writer”

To read the full reviews please click on the links below.

The City & The City by China Mieville 

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss 

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch 

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi 

Sadly, I did not have time to read Best Served Cold by Joe Abercrombie, as planned, so I will be reading & reviewing it over the coming months instead.

Also this month, I wrote my first feature titled My Life in Books, taking inspiration from Anne Robinson’s television show, showing all the books that made an impact on my life. In case you missed it, you can read the article here.

In other news I’ve also had a new blog header designed by the brilliant illustrator Mike Harman. I am very grateful for all his hard work and we would both love to know what you think – so post a comment and let us know! If you’d like more information on Mike and his illustrations you can visit his blog here.

I am currently reading The Crimson Petal and the White by Michael Faber, with the television adaptation due to hit our screens next week! As for other books that I will be reviewing in April, please take a look at the Coming Soon page by clicking here.

Until next month!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 21:33

    About the new blog header – I am totally jealous! I noticed it this morning when I was reading a friend a couple excerpts of your “Windup Girl” review and ended up raving about how great the header looks.

    • April 1, 2011 21:17

      Aww thank you bookmonkey!! I think it looks fantastic as well – it really livens up my blog 🙂 It’s great to get someone else’s opinion! And I am chuffed that you were reading parts of my review to your friend! I did leave a comment on your blog post the other day but I don’t think it showed up? 😦 Just wanted to say thanks a lot for mentioning my blog in your post and I was very glad to see that you enjoyed Let The Right One In! 🙂

Leave a Reply

