Skip to content

April Summary

April 30, 2011

April has been a great month for reading! I’ve read some really great books this month – particularly White Cat by Holly Black, and Divergent by Veronica Roth. Both are very good young adult books that I would highly recommend! However, it wasn’t hard for me to choose my Book of the Month this month, as it was such an obvious winner…

Book of the Month

The Crimson Petal and the White

by Michel Faber

This really is a superb novel. Faber has created a Victorian story infused with a very modern voice that guides you along on the journey of these characters. For anyone who has watched the BBC adaptation, I urge you to read the book, for it is ten times better. Although it was very artfully done, it lacked that voice – the voice that I can’t quite get out of my mind whenever I think of this story. Never before have I been so sad to say goodbye to so many fictional characters.

April Reviews

The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber 

Divergent by Veronica Roth  

White Cat by Holly Black  

Outpost by Adam Baker 

Kill Fish Jones by Caro King 

Coming Soon: May

There are lots of books I am really excited to read in May. First of all, my top choice has to be Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris, the latest Sookie Stackhouse book due out on 3rd May. I am currently reading a proof copy of the latest book by China Mieville, called Embassytown so you can expect a review of that very soon. I am also excited to read Jennifer Eagen’s A Visit From the Goon Squad, which recently won the Pulitzer Prize. To see more of what I’m hoping to read this coming month, check out the Coming Soon page here. I hope everyone had a lovely Easter and that you’re enjoying all these bank holidays! Til next time…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

