Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

June 15, 2011

“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly event hosed by Breaking the Spine blog, where various bloggers get to showcase the novels they are eagerly anticipating! As it’s such a brilliant idea, I’m going to hopefully start doing this on a regular basis! So here’s my entry for this week:

 

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

Publisher: Quercus

Release Date: 29th September 2011

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Format: Paperback

 

Blurb

It could happen tomorrow…

A cataclysmic event. An army of “The Changed.”
Can one teen really survive on her own?

An electromagnetic pulse sweeps through the sky, destroying every electronic device and killing billions. For those spared, it’s a question of who can be trusted and who is no longer human…

Desperate to find out what happened and to avoid the Changed, Alex meets up with Tom—a young army veteran—and Ellie, a young girl whose grandfather was killed by the electromagnetic pulse.

This improvised family will have to use every ounce of courage they have just to survive.

 

I’m lucky enough to have a proof copy of this and cannot wait to read it after hearing so many good things about it! I also love the way the cover looks like a teenage version of The Passage by Justin Cronin, which was one of my favourite reads of 2010! I have high hopes for Ashes and am sure it’s set to be a bestseller for teens later this year!

 

What do you think of Ashes?

Is it one of your most anticipated novels of the year?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 21:15

    I’m so glad you’re joining us for WoW!

  2. June 15, 2011 21:33

    Oh, this sounds fantastic – I’m a huge fan of dystopian fiction! I want to read it, like, NOW. Great pick!

    If you’d like, you can check out my WoW here.

  3. June 19, 2011 13:07

    And have you seen the American cover? http://www.egmontusa.com/catalog/display.pperl?isbn=9781606841754
    VERY cool. Seriously creeped me out when I first saw it . . . and very little creeps me out.
    I hope you enjoy the read.

    • June 19, 2011 19:08

      The American cover is definitely creepy! But I have to admit I prefer the UK cover 🙂 I can’t wait to read it Ilsa! I’ve heard so many great things about it! I hope you get chance to read my review when it’s up 🙂

  4. June 19, 2011 19:41

    Let me know when it’s up. Of course, if you HATE the book . . . well, don’t tell me 😉

    • June 19, 2011 21:02

      I highly doubt I will hate it! It looks right up my street 🙂 My colleague has already read it and absolutely loved it even though she doesn’t normally read young adult books! I’ll be sure to let you know when my review is up anyway. Thanks for your comments Ilsa!

Leave a Reply

