Skip to content

In My Mailbox #1

June 21, 2011

In My Mailbox is an idea from Kristi at The Story Siren  and is the perfect opportunity for us bloggers to show all the new books we’ve received from publishers or bought from shops. Here is what I received last week:

 

Into The Dark Corner by Elizabeth Haynes – Published by Myriad Editions, Out now.

Kindly lent to me by my lovely colleague who read this in one day. Excited to read it but slightly nervous it may be similar to Before I Go To Sleep by S. J. Watson which I really didn’t enjoy. It’s a novel about domestic violence and the ongoing struggles even after the protagonist has escaped.

Life: An Exploded Diagram by Mal Peet – Published by Walker Books, Out now.

New Young Adult title from the brilliant Mal Peet. I absolutely loved Tamar so I’m excited to read this one! Set in Norfolk 1962 during the Cold War, it follows the relationship between a working class boy and the daughter of a wealthy landowner.

Accabadora by Michela Murgia – Published by MacLehose Press, Out on 29th September

Translated from the Italian, and winner of six major literary prizes. Set in 1950s rural Sardinia and raises the issue of euthanasia.

Exile by Jakob Ejersbo – Published by MacLehose Press, Out on 27th October

Very excited about this one! The first novel in a major trilogy exposing the guilt, loneliness and nihilism of the ex-pat experience in post-colonial Africa. Translated from the Danish.

Lost Christmas by David Logan  – Published by Quercus, Out on 27th October

New childrens title where It’s A Wonderful life meets modern Manchester in a tale of an orphaned boy who meets a mysterious stranger on Christmas Eve. Set to be adapted into a BBC adaptation staring Eddie Izzard.

 

 

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore – Published by Michael Joseph, Out on 23rd August

Very, very excited about this one! I really enjoyed I Am Number Four and can’t wait to continue the story! I was very lucky to pick this up at work!

Exile by Rebecca Lim – Published by HarperCollins Childrens Books, Out now.

Sadly I haven’t read the first one in this series, Mercy so I might have to rectify this at some point so I can get around to reading Exile. I do love the cover though! Thanks to HarperCollins for sending it to me!

 

Books I Bought   

The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht – Published by Pheonix, Out now.

Excited to read this after it won the Orange Prize this month, but slightly dubious as to whether or not I will enjoy it after hearing such mixed reviews.

Blood Red Road by Moira Young – Published by Marion Lloyd Books, Out now.

New YA title. I love the cover of this book and that’s definitely what caught my eye! I’ve read lots of great reviews of this one, but also cautious of the fact it sounds similar to The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, which I didn’t overly enjoy.

Black Swan Rising by Lee Carroll – Published by Bantam Press, Out now.

This one caught my eye at work. This one struck me as being a bit more original than the other Dark Fantasy titles out there at the moment, and I always love a nice easy read. It’s also received a very high rating on Amazon.

So plenty to read over the coming months, lots of brilliant new titles! Thanks to Quercus, MacLehose Press & HarperCollins for sending me  these titles.

Have you read or received any of these titles? 

Would you recommend any of these titles?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 19:43

    I can’t wait to read The Power of Six! You’re lucky you got it early!
    Great books this week and happy reading!

    • June 27, 2011 22:43

      Tell me about it! Luckily a Penguin rep came into work last week and brought in a copy so I quickly nabbed it before anyone else! 🙂

  2. June 28, 2011 06:43

    Exile looks really interesting :). I haven’t read I Am Number Four yet.. I think I need to get on that :D. Hopefully you’re enjoying your books!

    Happy reading!!

  3. June 29, 2011 11:58

    Jealous of your copy of The Power of Six…

    • June 29, 2011 17:14

      hehe were you a fan of I Am Number Four then? 🙂 I don’t even have the chance to read it yet as got so much to do for July!! pah!

      • June 30, 2011 08:18

        I am a fan, yeah. But, I also think it’s the kind of series that will evolve in quality, too. Hoping so, anyway.

Leave a Reply

