Skip to content

In My Mailbox #2

July 3, 2011

 In My Mailbox is an idea from Kristi at The Story Siren  and is the perfect opportunity for us bloggers to show all the new books we’ve received from publishers or bought from shops. I haven’t done one of these for almost two weeks so here is what I received in that time:

Little Star by John Ajvide Lindqvist – Published by Quercus, Out on 29th September 

I’m really excited by this one! If you’ve read any of my previous Lindqvist reviews you will know how much I love his work! Most well known for his supernatural vampire horror Let The Right One In, Little Star is Lindqvist’s first non-supernatural novel. Little Star is said to be a dark and sad story of a friendship between two damaged children, and the consequences that fame and the media can have on young girls.

The Invisible Ones by Stef Penney – Published by Quercus, Out on 1st September

This is the new book from the Costa Award-winning author of The Tenderness of Wolves, which I regret to say that I haven’t read yet! It is on my shelf, in my TBR pile however! The Invisible Ones, set in 1980s rural England, is a compelling mystery about a gypsy family prone to misfortune.

Ashes by Sergios Gakas Published by MacLehose Press, Imprint of Quercus, Out on 7th July

I’m very excited by this one and I don’t normally read much crime fiction. A classic noir thriller, translated from the Greek by Anne-Marie Stanton-Ife. Ashes is about a corrupt society where addiction and regret are the only qualities humans have left. Coke addict Police Colonal Chronis and alcohol addict Simeon come together to take revenge for the death of their ex lover, a former actress who has died in a fire. It sounds extremely dark and I can’t wait to read this!

Heart of Tango by Elia Barcelo  – Published by MacLehose Press, Imprint of Quercus, Out on 7th July

I love literature set in Latin America so I have high hopes for this. A tale of cursed love set in 1920s Buenos Aires.

Breverton’s Phantasmagoria: A Compendium of Monsters, Myths & Legends by Terry Breverton Published by Quercus, Out on 7th July

This is a must-have book for anyone who loves myths and legends, or supernatural creatures! It has fantastic illustrations and lots of weird and wonderful information! There are over 250 creatures and beasts in this compendium! In light of how popular supernatural fiction is these days, this should definitely be a welcome addition to a lot of people’ collections!

Bunker by Andrea Maria Schenkel – Published by Quercus, Out on 7th July

Schenkel is the international best-selling author of The Murder Farm. I love the inclusion of a quote on the back of the book likening it to Bernhard Schlink’s The Reader, which I absolutely adored. Bunker is ultimately about the effects of war on the German psyche, when Monkia gets kidnapped and left in a bunker one terrifying night.

The Emperor’s Knife by Mazarkis Williams – Published by Jo Fletcher Books, Imprint of Quercus, Out on 27th October

I do love reading a good epic fantasy novel and I hope this will be as good as it sounds! In the heart of the Cerani Empire, a plague is attacking its citizens in the form of a geomometric pattern that spreads across the skin, until you die in agony or become a Carrier – a servant of the Pattern Master.

The Vampire Shrink by Lynda Hilburn – Published by Jo Fletcher Books, Imprint of Quercus, Out on 1st September

I’m always a little dubious when it comes to new vampire fiction – I am known to like it but it has to be good quality writing. I’m not a big fan of the really romantic and overly sexual novels that often come up in this genre, so I’m just crossing my fingers this won’t be one of them. The Vampire Shrink was originally self-published and now more than 200,000 copies have been downloaded from Amazon. Vampire Shrink is about Kismet Knight, a vampire psychologist who is currently helping a young teenager who wants more than anything to become one of the undead. But Kismet is pulled in far deeper than she ever thought possible when she meets the 800-year-old leader of a vampire coven.

Bereft by Chris Womersley Currently published in Australia by Scribe Publications, but set for a UK release in January 2012 by Quercus.

This sounds absolutely fantastic and I’m finding it hard trying to keep this near the back of my TBR pile as I sift through the books with more urgent publication dates. It’s 1919 in Australia, and the Great War has ended, but rumours are rife about the end of the world as the Spanish flu epidemic rages across Australia. Quinn Walker returns ten years later after being accused of an unspeakable crime. He meets orphan Sadie Fox who seems to know more about the crime than she should.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller – Published by Bloomsbury, Out in September

I love anything to do with Greek mythology so I picked this one up at work last week. It’s described as an original debut and a new retelling of the Trojan War for a new generation. I’ve read lots of books on the Trojan War so I hope this is up there with the rest of them! It looks fantastic and I can’t wait to be immersed into the world of the Ancient Greeks once again!

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson – Published by HarperCollins, Out on 29th September

This is book one in the new Shades of London series. I’ve been hearing plenty of hype surrounding this one both at work and online. A sudden outbreak of gruesome murders are occurring in the city of London, by someone who is mimicking the horrific work of Jack the Ripper. I’m really excited about this one after hearing all the rave reviews on it!

 

As you can see I’ve received so many fantastic books these last two weeks! Thanks to everyone at Quercus, MacLehose Press, Jo Fletcher books & Harper Collins for sending them to me! I can’t wait to read and review every single one of them! If you’ve read any of the books shown above or you like the look of any of them – please leave a comment below! I’d love to know your thoughts too.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2011 22:08

    Ooooh, The Name of the Star looks so good! But I can’t get it on NetGalley since I’m not an Aussie 😦 Hope you like it, and the rest of your books too!

    Here’s my IMM 🙂

  2. July 6, 2011 19:41

    Will be interested to hear what you think of ‘The Emperor’s Knife’ – it’s on my bookshelf too.

    • July 7, 2011 15:52

      Then I will be interested in your thoughts on it too! 🙂 I don’t think it’s out for a little while yet so I probably won’t be reading it any time soon, but when I do get around to it my review will be posted on here so keep your eye out for it 🙂 It looks really interesting though – intriguing concept!

  3. July 28, 2011 02:13

    Thanks so much for being willing to read my book, Emma. I appreciate it!
    Lynda Hilburn
    THE VAMPIRE SHRINK

    • July 28, 2011 10:43

      No Problem Lynda! I will be reading & reviewing it soon 🙂 My colleague has already read it and very much enjoyed it! Thanks for leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

