Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: Pegasus by Robin McKinley

July 6, 2011

“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly event hosed by Breaking the Spine blog, where various bloggers get to showcase the novels they are eagerly anticipating! So here’s my entry for this week:

Pegasus by Robin McKinley

Publisher: Puffin

Release Date: 7th July 2011

Genre: Young Adult

Format: Paperback

The first book in a magical two-part tale of fantasy and friendship . . .

On her twelfth birthday, Princess Sylviianel is ceremonially bound to her own Pegasus, Ebon. For a thousand years humans and pegasi have lived peacefully in the beautiful green country beyond the wild lands. They rely on human magicians and pegasi shamans as their only means of real communication – but not Sylvi and Ebon. Their friendship is like no other. . .

They can understand each other.

But as their bond grows more powerful, it becomes dangerous – could their friendship threaten to destroy the peace and safety of their two worlds?

I’ve never read anything by Robin McKinley before and this one just caught my eye with its beautiful cover! I can’t wait to read it.

Have you got Pegasus on your wish list?

Would you recommend any other books by Robin McKinley?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 10:06

    Great choice – Im waiting for this one as well 🙂 Everyones written such good things about it!

  2. July 6, 2011 12:48

    Oh, wow . . . Robin writes such beautiful fairy-tale style fantasies, and being a Princess bound to a Pegasus sounds like a gorgeous start of a story. This definitely goes on my TBR list.

    Here’s my reading selections for this week.

  3. July 6, 2011 12:50

    Oh, this one sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing…

    Here’s MY WOW POST

  4. July 6, 2011 13:08

    Have always enjoyed McKinley’s writing and the Pegasus has always been one of my favorite mythological creatures, so I am excited about this one too. Great pick!

  5. July 6, 2011 14:19

    I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz about this one. I’ll definitely have to check it out!

    Please check out my post!

  6. July 7, 2011 05:00

    Sounds interesting, I might have to check it out eventually. As for the post idea of what book you’re looking forward to, it’s still a ways off but I’m eagerly awaiting A Memory of Light, the 14th book in the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan (and being finished by Brandon Sanderson). I’ve been reading these books for years and I can’t wait to finally finish the series. Another series that I’m going to read eventually is the Harry Potter series, I read the first 4 books years ago and enjoyed them greatly.

    • July 7, 2011 15:53

      Ahh it’s always nice when you finally finish a series 🙂 I started reading Harry Potter a couple of years ago for the first time but got stuck on Order of the Pheonix and found it too boring to finish!! I must do it at some point so I can get on to the later ones which i think are meant to be better!

    • July 7, 2011 15:54

      Also if you like Harry Potter – have you tried Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch? It’s like Hot Fuzz meets Harry Potter – quite entertaining!

Leave a Reply

