Skip to content

In My Mailbox #3

July 18, 2011

In My Mailbox is an idea from Kristi at The Story Siren  and is the perfect opportunity for us bloggers to show all the new books we’ve received from publishers or bought from shops. I haven’t done one of these for almost two weeks so here is what I received in that time:

Wither by Lauren DeStefano – Published by Harper Voyager, 4th August 2011

This is book one of the new Chemical Garden series. I’ve heard so many good things about this book and there is certainly a lot of buzz from Waterstone’s Booksellers in particular. It’s been described as The Handmaid’s Tale for the new generation. I’m very excited to read this one! Thanks to Harper Voyager for sending me a copy!

 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – Published by Quirk, out now.

I had to buy this one yesterday after reading so many great reviews about it on numerous blogs. It looks extremely creepy and intriguing, in other words right up my street! What makes this book so different is the inclusion of real Victorian photographs scattered throughout the story. It’s a beautifully produced book and if you’re a book collector then I would definitely add this to your collection!

 

The Bird King & Other Sketches by Shaun Tan – Published by Templar, out now.

This was one of my many great birthday presents, received last week. I’ve always admired Shaun Tan’s illustrations and this book is a brilliant collection of his work, including some from his books The Arrival,  The Red Tree, Tales From Outer Suburbia, and more. What I want more than anything now is a print of one of his illustrations to go up on my wall!

 

Blackout by Connie Willis – Published by Spectra, out now.

This was another birthday gift. I’ve heard lots of great things about this one again, and I’ve never read anything by Connie Willis before. I’ve really got into books on time travel lately (probably after watching too much Fringe on television). I can’t wait to give this a go!

 

Graveminder by Melissa Marr – Published by HarperCollins, out now.

Another birthday present. I’d had this on my wishlist so excited to get this as a present! I thought it could be something to fill the gap whilst I wait for another Sookie Stackhouse book! I’ve heard good reviews about it so fingers crossed it’s good.

 

The Book Thief Audiobook by Markus Zusak – Published by Random House Audiobooks

Final birthday present! I’m a huge fan of Markus Zusak and The Book Thief is my favourite book ever. I’ve never had an audiobook before so it’s a nice thing to have. It’s read by Allan Corduner and his voice is perfect for the character of Death!

 

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers – Published by Picador, Out now.

I found this cheap in a charity bookshop and it’s one I’ve wanted to read for a while now. It’s supposed to be a brilliant read, and it’s the story of Dave’s own life. I don’t normally do autobiographies but this one seems to read more like a novel.

 

The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ by Philip Pullman – Published by Canongate Books, out now.

This was another one I picked up at the charity bookshop, and again one I’ve been meaning to buy for a while now. I’m a huge fan of Philip Pullman, and I know this one is very different from his other work so I’m keeping my fingers crossed I will still enjoy it.

 

The Land of Green Plums by Herta Muller – Published by Granta Books, out now.

Herta Muller won the Nobel Prize in 2009 so this should be a good read. I’ve seen Muller’s latest novel The Appointment at work, and saw this one in the charity shop so thought I’d give it a go!

 

Magus of Stonewylde by Kit Berry – Published by Gollancz, out now.

I had to buy this book after meeting Kit when she did an event in our Waterstone’s store on Saturday. She was lovely and taught me all about how hares become affected by a full moon. It was all rather fascinating, and after seeing all the gorgeous covers of this series how could I resist buying one? Kit happily signed one for me and has agreed to do a Q&A for me soon so keep your eyes peeled!

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 18:38

    I have wither I really need to read it. I haven’t heard of any of these other books but they look pretty good, I’ll have to check em out

    My IMM

  2. Kristin permalink
    July 19, 2011 02:30

    Nice mailbox this week. I really want to read Wither, it looks like a great book.
    Book Sniffers Anonymous

  3. July 19, 2011 12:25

    I’ll look forward to your opinions on Scoundrel Christ. Having read it recently my opinion went up and down for several days afterwards.

    • July 19, 2011 14:05

      I really don’t know if I will enjoy it or not… but we’ll see. I doubt I’ll read it for a while yet as I have so many other books to read!

  4. July 19, 2011 16:19

    Wither and Graveminder are on different levels of creepy, but they’re both excellent reads. I’m looking forward to getting a copy of Miss Peregrine’s soon!

  5. July 20, 2011 00:12

    You got Wither and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children!! Wow! Both are on my wish list! Enjoy!

    Come by for a visit when you have a moment My Bookshelf.

Leave a Reply

