Skip to content

July Summary

July 31, 2011

This month I’ve read eight books in total, and not only that but most of them I rated very highly. It’s always great to look back on the past month and see how many good books you’ve actually read! It was extremely hard to choose between The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield and Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, as my book of the month. But ultimately, it had to go to Miss Peregrine’s just because of how unique and beautiful it is, and how intriguing all the vintage photographs were.  Rules of Civility by Amor Towles also deserves a special mention, and will also hold a special place in my heart for a long time to come!

Book of the Month

 

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

 It’s not very often you come across something as unique and special as this book. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children is Ransom Riggs’ debut novel. It feels like a work of art in your hands – a beautifully produced hardback with nice thick pages that smell divine, and a secret signature hidden under the cover of the book. It takes a book like this to make you realise just how much an e-book pales in comparison, and how important it is to keep the printed book alive

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs 

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield 

Rules of Civility by Amor Towles 

The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss 

Corsets & Clockwork: 13 Steampunk Romances edited by Trisha Telep 

Storm Front (Dresden Files #1) by Jim Butcher 

Haunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey 

Bunker by Andrea Maria Schenkel 

Plans for August

I have quite a lot of books to be getting through this month, starting with The Heart of Tango by Elia Barcelo, which I should have read this month but didn’t quite get around to. Then I’ve got a few that are coming out in August – Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence, Wither by Lauren DeStefano, and of course The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore! All these titles look fantastic so I can’t wait to start. I also have an ever-growing pile of titles released in September so I will be making my way through those towards the end of the month as well. I’m currently reading Black Swan Rising by Lee Carroll, with less than 100 pages to go, so you can expect a review of that very soon too! I now have over two weeks off work so let the reading commence!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 04:56

    The idea of picking the best book I’ve read over the past month is an interesting one. I might have to steal your idea and do a post about that tomorrow, I think it might depend on how much of the 5th Harry Potter book I get through tomorrow (I’m about 230 pages in right now).

    • August 1, 2011 18:35

      Steal it! 🙂 it’s something a lot of bloggers do at the end of a month! Is the 5th one Order of the Pheonix? I started reading that last year and just can’t get through it…. it’s so dull. It’s like she just tried to write a massive book but failed miserably. It’s a shame because I enjoyed all the others and really want to read the last ones, but just can’t get through it!! I might watch the film then move on to the next book lol

Leave a Reply

