Skip to content

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

August 22, 2011

I’ve seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened to John Smith. To the world he’s a mystery, but to me … he’s one of us. Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us, if we all still believe in our mission.

There are six of us left. We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another, but our Legacies are developing and soon we’ll be ready to fight. Is John Number Four – and is his appearance the sign I’ve been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who might be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

They caught Number One in Malaysia. Number Two in England. And Number Three in Kenya. They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio … and failed. I am Number Seven. And I’m ready to fight.

 

The Power of Six is the second book in Pittacus Lore’s Lorien Legacies, following I Am Number Four. I couldn’t wait to read this book after reading and reviewing I Am Number Four over a year ago now, and I’m so relieved that I can say it didn’t disappoint me at all! If anything it actually exceeded my expectations.

The Power of Six picks up right where I Am Number Four finishes – with Number Four having met up with Number Six, and the two of them plus Sam heading out of Paradise, Ohio, away from Sarah – the only girl Four has ever loved. The Mogadorians are hot on their tale as Number Four is next in line to be killed, as Number Three is now dead. It was sad to have to accept the fact that Henri, Four’s Cepan, is dead and no longer a character in the story. He was such a big part of what made I Am Number Four great, that I was worried that this second book just wouldn’t be as good. I had no need to worry, because The Power of Six took us deeper into the heart of the Loriens and what the purpose of their lives actually are. There was much more background included, particularly on the subject of their powers or legacies (with some rather new and exciting ones being introduced), and the chests that each of them have which help them to develop these legacies. We get to discover more about the Elders and how and why these nine children were sent on a ship to Earth so they could ultimately come back to save Lorien. We also get to know a little more about the Mogadorians and the weapons they have at their disposal. We still don’t know who the Mogadorians are and exactly what it is they want, but this is what drives the story forward and keeps you wanting more.

Aside from following Four, Six and Sam, there is also the story of Marina, number Seven intertwined throughout.Marinais living in a convent on a Spanish island, with her Cepan, Adelina. However, Adelina has become devoted to the religion of the convent and has pushed aside her duties to Lorien.Marinais constantly worried that the Mogadorian’s are getting closer each day to discovering where they are, but no matter how hard she tries she cannot convince Adelina to leave the island. I absolutely adored these characters and thought they made the story much, much more interesting than what it could have been. It was great to get to know one of the nine, other than Four, like we did in the first book.

Of course, we also get to know a lot more about Six, who seems to have captured the hearts of both Sam and rather surprisingly, Four as well. In the first book, Four fell head over heels in love with Sarah, the girl he met at school, but in this book he struggles with being so far away from her and not being able to contact her. He thinks of her every day, but as he spends more and more time with Six, unwanted feelings begin to develop, which not only complicates things for Four, but for Sam as well who has also fallen for Six. Sam and Four have developed a close, long-lasting friendship and it was heartbreaking at times to see Four acting the way he does, knowing it will hurt his friend. It will certainly be interesting to see how these feelings develop for all three characters in the next book. But for me, Four’s behaviour at times did seem a little unrealistic. He spent so long in book one, declaring his love for Sarah, that it seems a little odd for him to suddenly develop feelings for someone he hardly knows. Sarah hardly comes into this book at all as well, which also felt a little strange. But in some ways, it was refreshing that the story had moved on from just being about their relationship.

Overall, I really enjoyed The Power of Six, perhaps even more so than I Am Number Four. We’re finally starting to discover what the purpose is for these nine children living on Planet Earth, and it’s becoming more intriguing as the story goes on. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series, maybe then we will discover who the Mogadorians are, and what their reasons are for wanting them dead.

The Power of Six is out on 23rd August, published by Michael Joseph. Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a proof copy!

If you’d like to read my review of I Am Number Four then click here.

Rating: 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 17:43

    Exciting! I can’t wait to read it this week. I loved I Am Number Four.

  2. August 22, 2011 20:40

    Damn you. Damn, damn, damn you.

    You know how big my TBR pile is, yeah? And now I have to find some spare cash to go and buy this tomorrow!

    I really enjoyed the first book, as you know and I’ve been looking forward to this part (and your review). I’m glad it raised in quality from the first part. Excited!

    • August 22, 2011 23:10

      hehe can’t wait to see what you think of it too! I completely devoured it… could not put it down! It was so great to get back to those characters again and see some exciting new ones being introduced! I’m sure you’ll love it! It’ll be worth the money! 🙂

  3. dominic permalink
    September 24, 2011 09:39

    DAMN I REally wISH SARAH WAS IN THIS STORY,BUT BOTH BOOKS ARE GREAT!

Trackbacks

  1. August Summary « Book Monkey
  2. This Month’s Top-shelf: August 2011 Hottest Book Release » nollybook.com » Encouraging a greater reading culture in Brunei Darussalam
  3. My Top Ten Most Anticipated Books of 2012 « Book Monkey

Leave a Reply

