Skip to content

August Summary

September 1, 2011

August has been quite a good reading month for me, considering I’ve been off work and been doing other things I’ve still managed to read eight books in total (one of which I haven’t got around to reviewing just yet).  There certainly haven’t been any disappointing books this month which is always good, and I do seem to have focused on a lot of sci-fi/fantasy titles for some reason. My book of the month has to be Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence since I have hardly stopped raving about it since I finished it. I also have to give a special mention to The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore, the brilliant follow-up to I Am Number Four, and also Black Swan Rising by Lee Carroll which completely took me by surprise as I wasn’t expecting it to be quite that good! I’ve even bought the sequel already! So here is a quick summary of the seven books I’ve read and reviewed so far this month:

Book of the Month

Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

You can see for yourself that although this novel is exceedingly short in terms of most fantasy novels, Prince of Thorns certainly doesn’t lack any depth in character or story. There are magicians, necromancers, ghosts, animated skeletons, and many other fantastical creatures to feed your imagination. There is nothing lacking in this novel and I can’t even find a bad thing to say about it. I honestly cannot wait to read more, and I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy or even those who are new to the genre! It’s completely unforgettable and you will not be disappointed.

Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence 

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore 

Black Swan Rising by Lee Carroll 

Magus of Stonewylde by Kit Berry 

Wither by Lauren DeStefano 

A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan 

Heart of Tango by Elia Barcelo 

Plans for September

First of all I must apologise for not updating my blog as much as usual this month. I’ve had some time off work and although this should mean more reading, it’s actually meant that I’ve made more time for friends and family instead! All should be back to normal in September! I have lots of books to look forward to, particularly Ashes by Ilsa J Bick,  and Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, both of which I really cannot wait to read! I’m also currently reading The Night Circus  by Erin Morgenstern, which is fantastic so far!

I will also be posting a brilliant and insightful interview with Jo Fletcher in the coming week, who is now running a new imprint at Quercus called Jo Fletcher Books, which will publish lots of great new sci-fi and fantasy titles. So if you’re a fan of these genres make sure you look out for this!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2011 11:14

    Yay Prince of Thorns, go me 🙂

    The cover pick appears to be broken though … did you break my cover, Bookmonkey? That cost money you know…

    I hope now you’re back at work that nobody is allowed to leave the shop without a copy.

    • September 5, 2011 12:04

      It was a very well deserved book of the month! The picture works fine for me? 😦 I hope I didn’t break it!! Let me know if it happens again for you. I had a great conversation with a customer last week about your book! He came over to buy it and I raved about it for a good ten minutes! 🙂 That has to be the best part about my job being able to do that!

Leave a Reply

