Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: 11.22.63 by Stephen King

September 21, 2011

 “Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly event hosed by Breaking the Spine blog, where various bloggers get to showcase the novels they are eagerly anticipating! Here’s my entry for this week:

 
11.22.63 by Stephen King

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Release Date: 8th November 2011

Genre: Adult Fiction

Format: Hardback

WHAT IF you could go back in time and change the course of history? WHAT IF the watershed moment you could change was the JFK assassination? 11/22/63, the date that Kennedy was shot – unless . . . 

King takes his protagonist Jake Epping, a high school English teacher from Lisbon Falls, Maine, 2011, on a fascinating journey back to 1958 – from a world of mobile phones and iPods to a new world of Elvis and JFK, of Plymouth Fury cars and Lindy Hopping, of a troubled loner named Lee Harvey Oswald and a beautiful high school librarian named Sadie Dunhill, who becomes the love of Jake’s life – a life that transgresses all the normal rules of time.

With extraordinary imaginative power, King weaves the social, political and popular culture of his baby-boom American generation into a devastating exercise in escalating suspense.

 

I’m really excited by this one! I’ve not read much by Stephen King before, but the whole premise of his new novel really intrigues me! Plus I do like a bit of time travel! 🙂 Also check out the very cool book trailer here!

If you’ve written a Waiting on Wednesday blog post then do post a comment below with the link so I can check it out too!

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 11:02

    You need to read King’s Dark Tower series. It’s really quite brilliant and heartbreaking. Easily his best work.

    • September 21, 2011 11:45

      I do have the first one actually! Though I tried to read it years ago and couldn’t get into it…but I think as I’ve read more of that kind of genre now I’d probably appreciate it more. Will give it another go at some point for sure 🙂

  2. September 21, 2011 11:15

    I used to read a lot of Stephen King when I was a teenager but must admit I haven’t really read much by him over the last few years. This one does sound very interesting though!

  3. September 21, 2011 11:49

    i’ve heard of this book a while back but it didn’t have the cover then. it looks good. i might have to pick it up and finally read my first stephen king novel. great pick 🙂

    i hope you can stop by my WoW this week.

    -michelle

  4. Greta at PW permalink
    September 21, 2011 13:58

    WOW!

    VERY COOL!!!

    Paranormal Wastelands WoW:
    http://paranormalwastelands.blogspot.com/2011/09/waiting-on-wednesday_21.html

    Zompacolypse is coming. Are you infected?

    And while you are visiting the Wastelands enter for a chance to win a Vampire Wake Prize Pack and After Obsession!

  5. September 21, 2011 14:00

    Seems like I’ve been waiting for this forever – I can’t wait!

    Here’s my WOW for this week . . . which includes a different piece of SK’s universe.

  6. September 21, 2011 16:31

    This sounds like a really cool concept. Stephen King may be just the one to pull it off. Looking forward to your review!

  7. September 21, 2011 18:18

    I haven’t read much Stephen King, but this book definitely sounds interesting. I might have to add it to my wishlist. Great choice!

    My WoW

  8. September 21, 2011 18:52

    I haven’t read anything by him in awhile, but this one’s definitely on my list!

  9. September 21, 2011 20:37

    It sounds like a really interesting premise for a book. I haven’t read any Stephen King so the only basis I would have to compare this to his other works would be from the movies.

    As for waiting for a book, I am eagerly awaiting Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn novel Alloy of Law which I’m pretty sure is due out in November.

  10. Jon71 permalink
    September 21, 2011 21:51

    Ooo, this sounds interesting! Never really been a Stephen King fan (always liked James Herbert instead, read The Rats as a teenager and was hooked 🙂 ) but this sounds different and I’ve just been forward in time and read your review and I’ll be buying it lol

    • September 21, 2011 22:43

      haha what an easy sell 🙂 Didn’t even need to write the review! Glad everyone’s loving my pick this week 🙂

  11. September 22, 2011 04:36

    This sounds really interesting. I haven’t read anything by Stephen King, and I really want to! I have The Gunslinger on my shelf but it’s one of those books that I have to be in the mood for it seems.

    • September 22, 2011 09:38

      I couldn’t agree more! I’m exactly the same…had it on my shelf for years and started it once and couldn’t quite get into it. Determined to give it another go at some point though! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      • September 22, 2011 16:51

        The first part, the Gunslinger is quite odd as an opener, it doesn’t grab like it should. The second part was the one that hooked me and part four is one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read. You should definitely try to give them a go at some point.

      • September 22, 2011 17:45

        Ahh okay that’s interesting to know!! I know a couple of my colleagues love them and of course with your seal of approval as well I will undoubtedly give them a go :p

Trackbacks

  1. New Alternate History Book: 11/22/63 by Stephen King | Alt Hist

Leave a Reply

