Skip to content

September Summary

October 1, 2011

So this month I read seven books in total which isn’t bad for me. What’s been great about September is the fact that I didn’t really read a single bad book. Sure there were a couple I didn’t love, but I can quite happily say I enjoyed every one. My book of the month was very easy, without a doubt it has to be Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. It is everything I hoped it would be and is so far my favourite book of the entire year. It’s going to be a hard one to beat! Special mention also deserves to be given to The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, this was another novel I had been eagerly awaiting, and although in my opinion it wasn’t perfect, it was still incredibly enjoyable and magical in every way possible. Below is a summary of each book I reviewed in September in order of how much I enjoyed them; to read the reviews just click on the titles.

Book of the Month

 Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

 I just cannot possibly recommend this book any more than I already have. It’s a feast for your imagination, and once you have stepped into the pages of Taylor’s novel you will only want to crawl deeper and deeper into it. I almost feel like a part of me is still there. I cannot wait for the second book in the trilogy, and the thought of how long I’m probably going to have to wait for that day is almost unbearable. Daughter of Smoke and Bone has become probably my favourite read of the year so far, and having already bought Taylor’s debut novel The Faeries of Dreamdark: Blackbringer, I know that I will be devouring every little thing she writes from now on! Laini Taylor is definitely one to watch, and I can only sit in awe and envy her creativity and beautiful imagination. This book is like food for your soul. It makes you realise just how powerful our imaginations are, and how extraordinary it feels to be able to escape into a whole other world. If only I had my own little door to Elsewhere…

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor 

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern  

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick 

Soul Beach by Kate Harrison 

Little Star by John Ajvide Lindqvist 

The Vampire Shrink by Lynda Hilburn 

The Invisible Ones by Stef Penney 

Plans for October

I’m currently reading The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson, a young adult novel about Jack the Ripper. There’s been lots of buzz about this one online, and so far it’s living up to the hype! I also plan to read The Taker by Alma Katsu, The Emperor’s Knife by Mazarkis Williams, and of course Midwinter Blood by one of my all-time favourite authors, Marcus Sedgwick. There are a few others I’ll hopefully get around to as well, but there are obviously lots of great books to look forward to this month for sure. I hope you’ve all had a great September, and that you get to read lots of nice books this month too 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 20:10

    Daughter of Smoke & Bone you say? Well, I have to admit you’ve demonstrated some impeccable taste so far this year 🙂 so I should really follow your advice.

Leave a Reply

