Skip to content

October Summary

October 30, 2011

This month I’ve sadly only managed to read six books in total, including one – In The Sea There Are Crocodiles by Fabio Geda – which I haven’t yet got around to reviewing. I’m very sorry for the lack of blogging and reviewing this month, but I worked my fourth year in a row at the Cheltenham Literature Festival, which meant not a lot of reading got done, ironically. If you would like to read about my time at the festival you can do so by clicking here. I am also off on holiday tomorrow to Paris for a few days, so when I return you can expect reviews of In The Sea There Are Crocodiles and also the new book from Stephen King – 11.22.63 – which I am just about to finish! Despite not reading many books this month, all the books I read were mostly brilliant and I definitely wasn’t left disappointed with any of them. But my book of the month was definitely an easy pick this time, which you can see below along with the other books I reviewed this month…

Book of the Month

Un Lun Dun by China Miéville

I really cannot recommend this novel enough. It’s a wonderful breath of fresh air not only for the fantasy genre, but for the YA genre as well. It’s a story that is very much relevant to the world we live in today, and one that many children and adults will get something out of, but more important than anything is, it’s fun. It’s perhaps the most fun I’ve had all year whilst reading a book! It’s random, yes, but I still can’t help but be left in awe of Miéville’s imagination, and how he has managed to make so many random objects and characters come together to create something that fits together perfectly.

Un Lun Dun by China Miéville 

Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick 

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher 

Accabadora by Michela Murgia 

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson 

 

I apologise again for the lack of blogging! I promise you more next month! 🙂 I hope everyone has a lovely Halloween!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 19:13

    Ooh – pre-release copy of 11.22.63 – lucky you! No spoilers in the review please – us plebs have still go a week to wait!

  2. November 6, 2011 07:52

    Only 6? Must we call you pageMonkey rather than bookMonkey? (actually I’ve not read many more than this in the whole year).

    • November 6, 2011 18:48

      I know 😦 I’m such a let down aren’t I?! haha. It was a very busy month though…just not so much for reading. Shame on you having only read that amount in a YEAR! :p Still I suppose you are writing novels so I will let that go…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

