Skip to content

My Top Ten Most Anticipated Books of 2012

November 18, 2011

With the end of 2011 drawing near, I thought I’d take the time to post a list of my top ten most anticipated reads of 2012. Most of them are by authors I love and cherish, some are a continuation of series started this year, and one even highlights an author I’ve never read before! So, in no particular order…

1. King Of Thorns by Mark Lawrence – Harper Voyager, imprint of Harper Collins, August, 2012.

Prince of Thorns is most definitely one of my top reads of 2011 so I can’t even begin to tell you how  excited I am for the second book in the Broken Empire series, King of Thorns. The main  character, Jorg, has stayed with me ever since Prince of Thorns, and I really can’t wait to see what will happen next. If you haven’t read it yet then what the hell are you waiting for?!

2. The Twelve by Justin Cronin – Orion Books, August 2012. 

I read The Passage well over a year ago now,and it’s been a bloody long wait for the second part of this trilogy, and it looks like we still have almost a year left to wait!! I can only hope that Cronin makes it worth the wait, and that this novel will not disappoint. The Passage was the perfect mix of literary fiction and vampire horror, but is it wrong that I’m hoping for a slightly thinner book this time?!

3. Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak –  2012

Those of you who know me well, will know that Markus Zusak is my favourite author, ever since I read The Book Thief a couple of years ago. Again it’s been a very long wait for this one, but I know it will be worth it. In an interview with The Guardian, Zusak himself said “I’m writing a book called Bridge of Clay – about a boy building a bridge and wanting it to be perfect. He wants to achieve greatness with this bridge, and the question is whether it will survive when the river floods. That’s all I can say about it for now – not out of secrecy, but you just don’t know what direction a book is going to take, no matter how well you’ve planned.”  You can also check out a rather lengthy extract of Bridge of Clay on Zusak’s Facebook page. This book was due for release this year, but due to Zusak wanting to get it right, it has now been delayed. I only hope it won’t be put back another year!

4. Railsea by China Mieville – Macmillan, May 2012

This time last year I hadn’t even read anything by China Mieville. After having now devoured three of his books, he has also advanced straight onto the list of my top favourite authors. I’m extremely excited for Railsea. There’s no description yet of what it will be about, but it has been rumoured to be another young adult novel, and after loving Un Lun Dun, I’m very happy about this! I can’t even begin to imagine what it will be about, and I’m not even going to try because I know it won’t even compare to whatever genius ideas Mieville has come up with!

5. The Demi-Monde: Spring by Rod Rees – Jo Fletcher Books, imprint of Quercus, January 2012

I read The Demi-Monde: Winter back in September of last year, and it was in fact one of the first reviews to appear on the Book Monkey blog, but it has stayed with me ever since. I’m so very eager to jump back into the world Rees has created, and can’t wait to revisit some of my favourite characters again. If you haven’t started this four-part sci-fi series yet, PLEASE do! Rod Rees is a wonderful writer and one that should not be ignored!

6. The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – Weidenfeld
& Nicholson, imprint of Orion, June 2012

Again, Carlos Ruiz Zafon is on my list of favourite authors, and I’ve been eagerly awaiting another adult novel from him for a while now. As much as I adore  the young adult series, they lack the depth of the adult novels that he writes so well. I was left a little disappointed after The Angel’s Game, so I can only hope that The Prisoner of Heaven will be good enough to rival The Shadow of the Wind, one of my all-time favourite novels! The Prisoner of Heaven will be the third book in the cycle of novels that begun with The Shadow of the Wind. Also very much worth mentioning, is the publication of another young adult novel about Zafon in 2012 called The Watcher in the Shadows. Two books in one year – could it get any better?

7. Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris – Gollancz, May 2012

The Sookie Stackhouse series are very much my guilty pleasure. I adore them for being so fun and quick to read, and I always look forward to seeing what Sookie is up to next! Lots of things kicked off in Dead Reckoning, and with only one or two novels left to go in the series, this should hopefully be one of the best yet!

8. The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore – Penguin, August 2012

This will be the third book in the Lorien Legacies series that started with I Am Number Four, and then The Power of Six. I really love this series for having a host of great characters, but ultimately because it ‘s a hell of a lot of fun! The Power of Six was just slightly better than I Am Number Four so I can’t wait to see how this series will progress with the next book!

9. The Calling by Kelley Armstrong – Atom, imprint of Little, Brown Book Group, April 2012

I loved the first book in the Darkness Rising trilogy – The Gathering – and thought it was surprisingly one of the best YA books I read last year. This probably has something to do with my interest in Native American history, and I loved the way Armstrong weaved all the folklore into her story. Last year I read many first parts of a series, but not many of them resonated enough with me to read the next one. But where they failed, Kelley Armstrong certainly succeeded. If you haven’t read The Gathering yet I’d strongly recommend you do – it was certainly one of the best and most surprising books in the young adult dark fantasy genre in 2011.

10. The City’s Son by Tom Pollock – Jo Fletcher Books, imprint of Quercus, June 2012.

This is the only entry on my top ten that is written by an author I’ve never read anything by! I read about this one on the Fantasy Faction article where publishers chose the books they were most looking forward to in 2012, (well worth a read if you haven’t already!) Jo Fletcher wrote; “The first in The Skyscraper Throne trilogy, this is the story of a hidden London that is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and China Mieville. Dedicated and feisty this novel will appeal to everyone from YA and beyond.” Considering how much I loved the alternative London in China Mieville’s Un Lun Dun, I’m really excited to see what this one will be like, as I love the sound of it!

So there it is, my top ten most anticipated books of 2012. I’m sure there are many more out there that I haven’t even heard of yet, books that will no doubt slowly make themselves known to me as 2012 progresses. But for now, these are the books that I’m most looking forward to. If you have your own list of anticipated reads of 2012, why not post them in the comments below? I’d love to see what everyone else is looking forward to!

Next month I will also be posting an article on my top ten favourite reads of 2011, so watch this space!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 21:47

    Ah, Emma … the responsibility of it all.

  2. November 19, 2011 05:01

    Ok, new Carlos Ruiz Zafon I am all for reading (I loved Shadow of the Wind and The Angel’s Game). I’m also all for another book by Markus Zusak, The Book Thief was a brilliant book that was perfectly written. However, there is a major omission from your list. A Memory of Light is due out sometime next year, and I can’t think of a book I’m more impatiently waiting for. Aside from the fact that I started reading The Wheel of Time years ago and I really want to see how it ends, I’m also a HUGE fan of Brandon Sanderson and I love everything he’s written.

    • November 20, 2011 09:44

      Thanks for your suggestions Adam! 🙂 I’ve never started that series…but it seems like there are far too many books in it LOL. I don’t know if I could start it now! Glad you’re also looking forward to Zafon and Zusak new books though 🙂

  3. November 19, 2011 23:19

    I hadn’t even heard about the new Mieville! As long as it doesn’t come out the same week as the Mark Lawrence, I’m good. Otherwise I’ll be taking that entire week as vacation from work. 😉

    • November 20, 2011 09:43

      hehe glad to see you’re as excited as me for both books!! 😀 I only found out about the new Mieville a few weeks ago!

  4. Wahongahey permalink
    May 23, 2012 22:10

    City of Lost Souls is amazing I would definitely include it in this list. (author is Cassandra Clare)

Trackbacks

  1. Top Ten Most Anticipated Books Of 2012 «
  2. November Summary « Book Monkey
  3. My Top Ten Books of 2011 « Book Monkey
  4. December Summary « Book Monkey
  5. The Demi-Monde: Spring by Rod Rees « Book Monkey

Leave a Reply

