Skip to content

Around The Stacks In How Many Ways – A 2012 Book Challenge!

December 7, 2011

When fellow blogger Daniel from Dog Ear Discs asked me if I’d be interested in hosting a book challenge with him in 2012, I jumped at the chance! Neither of us tend to read a wide variety of genres, and so we thought, why not make it a challenge for the new year? This year I’ve discovered a new-found love and appreciation for science fiction and fantasy novels, so it would be great to think there’s a possibility that I might discover a new genre in the process of this challenge.

The challenge is called ‘Around The Stacks in How Many Ways’ and the idea is simple: to read as many genres as possible through the year, from the 1st January to the 31st December 2012. Both Daniel and myself would love to see other bloggers taking part, so if you’d like to give it a go please leave a comment below and grab the banner above to pop in the sidebar of your blog.

The choice of genres are as follows:

  • Crime/Mystery 
  • Thriller 
  • Romance 
  • Fantasy 
  • Sci-Fi
  • Literary 
  • Young Adult 
  • Historical Fiction 
  • Dystopian 
  • Steampunk 
  • Comedy/Black Comedy 
  • Horror/Supernatural
  • Adventure 
  • War 
  • Gothic 
  • Poetry 
  • Drama 
  • Childrens 
  • Graphic Novel 
  • Classic/Modern Classic
If you think of any genres that aren’t listed above, please feel free to add them to your own list. Please feel free to choose as many genres as you like and whichever books take your interest the most. I think for myself, I am going to choose about twelve genres, and review one a month, and choose quite ‘classic’ examples of each genre. I will post again in the near future on what genres I plan to use.

The Rules:

  • If you’re a book blogger, you can use review copies as part of the challenge.
  • You have to review the book if you are a blogger, even if it’s just a paragraph.
  • Feel free to use books from other challenges, if you like.
  • Sign up in the comments thread at the bottom of this post. Leave your name and blog address and I will add them to this post.
  • Feel free to add more genres if you need to, the above is just to start you off.
  • You DON’T have to be a book blogger, but it would be nice to see people blogging about their reads.

Rewards:

  • Hiker – Up to 5 genres
  • Backpacker – 5-10 genres
  • Traveler – 10-15
  • Palin-esque – 20+

This is the first book challenge I’ve taken part in, and I want to make it a great one, and the best way for that to happen is to get as many of you involved as possible! So if you’re like us, and want to expand your reading horizons, please do leave a comment below.

 

 

25 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 16:00

    Interesting idea, I don’t know if I’ll formally join the challenge or not, but I tend to read a fairly wide variety of books anyway.

    Otherwise, how about adding Cyberpunk and Non-Fiction to the list of options. Also, does Alternate History count as a separate genre or is that part of Historical Fiction?

    • December 8, 2011 17:18

      Well you can add whatever other genres you like to your own list 🙂 This is the list that myself and Daniel will choose from. But if you DO want to take part then feel free to add which ever genres or sub-genres you like! 🙂

  2. December 9, 2011 03:35

    Such a great idea for a challenge. Have fun!

  3. December 17, 2011 01:21

    I’m definitely interested in this challenge 🙂 My blog address is booksinthemoonlight.wordpress.com

  4. December 17, 2011 01:29

    My friend told me about this idea and it sounds like a lot of fun! I do have a blog (but have never used it before) and I don’t tend to read nearly as often as I’d like to. What I’m going to do is try to read one book from each genre. I have no idea how successful I will be, but I guess that’s the whole point of it being a “challenge” haha.

    • December 17, 2011 05:40

      Glad to have you on board Sam! 🙂 Just take it at your own pace and read as much or as little as you like! Look forward to your posts!

      • theblinkthesnapshot permalink
        May 7, 2012 01:10

        Hey Emma, this is Sam again, although I have made a new WordPress blog instead of my original tumblr one. Just starting the challenge now, 4 months late but what can you do! Feel free to check out my posts 🙂

  5. January 16, 2012 20:18

    I love the idea of this challenge! Thanks for creating it! I just started my book blog and I will to join the challenge 🙂
    http://thebookhunt.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/2012-reading-challenge-around-the-stacks-in-so-many-ways/
    I’ll try to keep up with the reading and posting 😉

  6. May 15, 2012 21:44

    What are the actual rewards? What do they do? And I don’t ten to often use my WordPress account, so please could you reply on my blog- http://akwarddonkey.blogspot.co.uk/ Thank you so much!xx

Trackbacks

  1. Observations from a novice book blogger « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  2. 2012 Book Challenge « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  3. December Summary « Book Monkey
  4. Around The Stacks In How Many Ways Book Challenge – My 16 Chosen Genres « Book Monkey
  5. Book Review: The Gathering Storm (Vol. I of The Katerina Trilogy) by Robin Bridges « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  6. In My Mailbox #5 « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  7. Book Review: The Sorceress (Book # 3 in The Secrets Of The Immortal Nicholas Flamel) by Michael Scott « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  8. Sam’s Blog « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  9. Book Review: The Necromancer (Book # 4 in The Secrets Of The Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series) by Michael Scott « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  10. In My Mailbox # 6 « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  11. Book Review: The Warlock (Book # 5 in The Secrets Of The Immortal Nicholas Flamel) by Michael Scott « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  12. Graphic Novel: Spider-Man Blue by Jeph Loeb « ForTheLoveOfBooks
  13. Book Review: The Enchantress (Book # 6 in The Secrets Of The Immortal Nicholas Flamel) by Michael Scott « The Streetlight Reader

Leave a Reply

