Skip to content

December Summary

January 3, 2012

This month has been a great chance to read some of the books I’ve had on my shelf for a while now and have been meaning to read for quite some time. I didn’t get through half as many as I wanted, and I apologise for the lack of blogging this month over the Christmas period, but I’m sure you know how it is! Here is my summary of everything I read in December:

Book of the Month

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

by Brian Selznick

I really cannot fault this novel in any way – from the lovely heart-warming and intriguing characters, to the beautiful Parisian setting captured so well in Selznick’s drawings, to the intricate designs and workings of the station clocks and the somewhat eerie automaton. Everything has its purpose and place – every word, drawing and photograph. I dare you to find fault in any of it.

All that’s left is for me to sit in awe of Selznick’s talents not only as a writer, but as an artist too. This is a story that I could see becoming a classic in years to come, the sort of story we would love to pass on to future generations.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick 

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald 

The Tiny Wife by Andrew Kaufman 

Lost Christmas by David Logan 

The Watchtower by Lee Carroll 

If you missed it, don’t forget to check out my Top Ten Books of 2011 and my Top Ten Most Anticipated Novels of 2012 ! There is also still time to enter the ‘Around The Stacks in How Many Ways’ genre book challenge – if you want to expand your reading horizons and try out some new genres, or re-discover some old favourites, why not sign yourself up for the 2012 challenge?

Plans for January

I’m going to be reading a LOT of proof copies in January. I’ve already got a rather huge stack of 2012 releases waiting to be devoured, and I can’t wait! There’s some great-looking books in there already; Switched by Amanda Hocking, The Demi-Monde: Spring by Rod Rees, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce, The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey and many, many more!

I’ve now reached over fifty subscribers to my blog, which I’m over the moon about. As a special thank you to you all, I will be hosting a pretty huge giveaway in January – so make sure you look out for it!

I hope everyone had a fantastic Christmas, and I wish you all a Happy New Year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

