Skip to content

Around The Stacks In How Many Ways Book Challenge – My Chosen 16 Genres

January 13, 2012

So after much deliberation I have finally chosen 16 genres, and 16 books, that I wish to explore for the Around The Stacks In How Many Ways 2012 Book Challenge that myself and Dog Ear Discs are hosting.

My reasons for choosing the books I have are either because I wanted to choose a ‘classic’ that I thought fully encapsulated the chosen genre, or because it’s a book I’ve had on my bookcase for sometime to read but just haven’t quite got to yet! Though please note, even though I have selected 16, I may not have time to read each one, despite how much I’d like to – but I’m definitely going to try my hardest!

If you haven’t yet signed up for the challenge you can do so by clicking here to get to the original challenge post, and leaving a comment with your details.

So without further ado, here are my chosen genres and titles:

  • Crime – The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle.
  • Thriller – The Thirty-Nine Steps by John Buchan
  • Romance – Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence
  • Fantasy – A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
  • Science Fiction – A Scanner Darkly by Philip K. Dick
  • Literary Fiction – Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
  • Classic – Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  • Historical Fiction – The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon
  • Dystopian Fiction – The Trial by Kafka
  • Steampunk – Steampunk! An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories edited by Gavin J. Grant
  • Horror – The Call of Cthulhu by H. P. Lovecraft
  • Adventure – Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch
  • War – Alone In Berlin by Hans Fallada
  • Western – The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt
  • Short Stories – Pretty Monsters by Kelly Link
  • Non-Fiction – Tigers in Red Weather by Ruth Padel
I can’t wait to start reading and posting reviews for this – it’s not only a great way to explore new genres, but also a great way of getting through my TBR pile, and reading some classics I’ve been meaning to for some time now!

What do you think of my selected genres and titles?

Would you recommend something else?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 22:19

    Ohh you’re reading Bleak House! I’ve never read that one by Charles Dickens, but it’s on my to-read list. I know the mini series had Gillian Anderson in it and she was in Great Expectations as well. I hope you enjoy it! I can’t wait to read your review for it 🙂

    • January 14, 2012 11:16

      Yes well I’ve never read any Dickens :O and I got Bleak House for Christmas so figured it would be a good place to start! 🙂 I adored the Great Expectations tv adaptation with Gillian Anderson and a colleague has said she’ll lend me the tv adaptation of Bleak House once I’ve read it!

      • January 14, 2012 12:49

        I couldn’t watch the whole mini-series! Just because I don’t have the BBC in Canada and I believe youtube took down the episodes for copyright reasons. I’m hoping I can find another copy online. I’m also looking forward to seeing the Great Expectations movie at the end of the year. I want to see how Helena Bonham Carter portrays Ms.Havisham.

      • January 14, 2012 18:35

        Argh how annoying! You must track down a copy – Gillian Anderson was perfect! It had a really great cast…though the guy playing Pip was perhaps a bit too model-like and not quite Dickensian enough…! I’m a bit on the fence about Helena Bonham Carter after seeing Gillian in the role… but looking forward to the movie too!

  2. January 14, 2012 10:57

    Nice choices! I’ll probably be changing a few of mine. That’s totally allowed.

    • January 14, 2012 11:16

      That’s like totally not allowed 😛 LOL. You need to post a definitive list at some point though 😉 Chop chop!

  3. January 14, 2012 22:16

    I will try! I’m hoping that a copy might be up online in the next couple of weeks! It was a shame the youtube one was removed lol. The quality was so good! I did see the first episode though! Gillian Anderson was definitely good as Ms.Havisham. I enjoyed how dark it was. My one disappointment was that Biddy wasn’t in the cast. She’s Pip’s friend/later would be Sweetheart…,but yes I will find a copy of it!

    • January 14, 2012 23:18

      Ohhh intriguing! I have the book reserved at work for me to buy at some point so I can finally read it and see how it’s different from the tv adaptation! Well I hope you do get to watch it all at some point 🙂

      • January 14, 2012 23:59

        I hope you enjoy it 🙂 You should definitely read A Tale of Two Cities. That’s one of my favourite Dickens books. Sydney Carton was such a great character in it. I haven’t read Great Expectations in a while,but maybe after watching the rest of the tv adaptation I’ll read it and then I can refresh my memory!

      • January 15, 2012 10:09

        Ohhh great! I’ll add A Tale of Two Cities to my wish list then 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation!

Trackbacks

  1. January Summary « Book Monkey
  2. Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence « Book Monkey

Leave a Reply

