Skip to content

January Summary

January 31, 2012

So it’s been my first reading month of 2012, and I can safely say it has been a fantastic one! There have been lots of brilliant new releases this month and that has definitely been reflected in my reviews so far. I have successfully read three of the brilliant Waterstones 11 debut novel titles, and I’ve enjoyed them all immensely so I’m really looking forward to see how the rest of the list pans out. Choosing my favourite novel of the month however, wasn’t difficult at all. It has to go to The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. It is possibly one of the best books I have ever read, and it has stayed with me ever since. Each time I think of it I get a little lump in my throat, and I just want to read it all over again! So if you haven’t read it yet, what are you waiting for? I also have to give a special mention to The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides, it’s the first novel I’ve read by him but his writing really did blow me away and I can’t wait to read more of his work! I also thoroughly enjoyed returning to the land of the Demi-Monde in the second of Rod Rees’ quartet, and I’m already eager for more! Below is a summary of my reviews for the month in order of how much I enjoyed them:

Book of the Month

 I have never in my life had such an emotional reaction to a book – not only in terms of tears, but in terms of laughter as well. Some of you may cower at the thought of reading a book about kids with cancer, and admittedly I did so myself at first, but this is a book about kids with cancer, written in a way you will never have read before, and are unlikely to read again. If I could urge you to read one book this year, it would undoubtedly be The Fault In Our Stars.

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green 

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides 

The Demi-Monde: Spring by Rod Rees 

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey 

The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach 

Switched by Amanda Hocking 

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce 

 

Plans for February

I still have some January releases that I need to get through as I just haven’t had the time for them all this month! I also have a couple more February releases including the brilliant Pure by Julianna Baggot, which I’m reading at the moment, and also Advent by James Treadwell. I’m also dying to read Empire State by Adam Christopher which I recently bought, and last but not least I will also be reading Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence for the Genre Book Challenge. In fact, my whole fiction team at work are taking part in this so I’m really looking forward to it! I hope you’ve all had a wonderful start to your reading new year, just as I have!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 20:54

    All those stars! You definitely had a good month 🙂

    I hope you enjoy Advent, I did.

    • January 31, 2012 21:00

      I really did! Not one bad book 😀 Oh good, I’m glad you enjoyed Advent! I have to admit I’ve heard a lot of mixed things about it, but I really want it to be good!

  2. February 3, 2012 13:16

    We have read very similar books recently and I would put your January reads in almost the same order as you. The only one I’d move is The Marriage Plot and I’d put that a bit below The Art of Fielding – I can see why you love it though. I haven’t read the Green, but its place at the top of your list is persuading me to give it a try.

    I’ve now read 5 of the Waterstones 11 and I’m impressed too. They haven’t been exactly to my taste, but I can see why they’ve been chosen. Enjoy the rest of them 🙂

    • February 3, 2012 15:34

      It’s lovely to hear from you Jackie! I’ve been following your brilliant blog for a while now 🙂 I read your review on The Art of Fielding and noted your comparisons to The Marriage Plot… I felt like The Art of Fielding was perhaps the more well constructed story, but I just love Eugenides writing, and for that alone I had to put him above Harbach! *Definitely* read the John Green book – I honestly don’t know anyone who’s read it that hasn’t fallen for it. It’s incredible. I’m really liking the Waterstones 11 this year, and looking forward to reading more – particularly The Panopticon. 🙂

  3. February 6, 2012 19:55

    wow that’s a lot of reading for the month of January; I better get moving 🙂

Leave a Reply

