Skip to content

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

May 6, 2012

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

  

Most of you probably already know that Insurgent is the sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel Divergent by Veronica Roth. I read Divergent over a year ago now, but it has always stayed with me ever since, and has definitely stood out amongst the other new YA dystopian fiction series released last year. I haven’t returned to many other series, but I knew I had to find out what would happen next in Insurgent, and I’m definitely glad I did.

This will probably be quite a quick review only because I don’t want to give away too many spoilers for those of you who have yet to read it, or even those of you who haven’t read Divergent yet either! But what I can say is that this truly is a fantastic sequel, and one that really makes you want the next instalment already! I have to admit, at first I really struggled to remember everything that had happened in Divergent, and even to remember which character was who! Roth has such a tendency to jam-pack so much into one book that it is difficult to remember everything that happened! I was expecting her to quickly brush over the important events in the last book, but found she didn’t do anything of the sort; she jumped straight into the story. But it did gradually all return to me, and in one way I guess it was quite refreshing not to have old plotlines retold.

What I loved about Insurgent was that everything wasn’t just plain-sailing between Tris and Tobias. Tris was dealing with a lot of guilt surrounding the death of her friend Will, by her own hands, and also the death of her parents. She has experienced so much at such a young age, it was all bound to take its toll, and I’m glad that this came through in her relationship with Tobias as well. Tobias also faces many challenges in this novel, particularly with his abusive father. I hardly ever enjoy the romantic aspects in YA novels, but Roth has written the relationship between Tris and Tobias from such a realistic aspect, that you really are rooting for them every step of the way. They both have a lot to figure out by themselves, however, before they can truly be happy together, and it’s in this novel that they both start to realise this.

With half of the Dauntless faction teaming up with Erudite, the two plan to take over and control all of the factions. However, it is Marcus, Tobias’s father, who tells Tris that the Erudite are keeping a terrible secret hidden from everyone, a secret that Abnegation were about to reveal to all of the factions, a secret that Tris’s own parents died to protect. Tris is faced with some really tough decisions over the course of the novel, and one that will ultimately lead her to work with Marcus, the very man Tobias despises, and work against Tobias himself. Their love for each other is really put to the test, but with their whole world at stake, they must fight to save everyone around them, as well as their relationship.

As for the secret itself, I’m obviously not going to tell you! But what I can say is that this secret changes everything. It is the foundation for why the factions exist, for what their purpose is in life, and is even a hint towards what lies beyond the fence. Also not forgetting, it explains a lot about what it means to be a ‘divergent’. I didn’t see it coming, and that’s down to Roth’s talent as a writer for writing such a truly intricate story with many, many layers. This secret has me more than excited for the third instalment now, and I really can’t wait to read it. I’m only sad that it is most likely another year’s wait!!

If you haven’t started this series yet, then what are you waiting for? I’ve always said I preferred Divergent to The Hunger Games, and Insurgent only went on to prove myself right all over again! These novels are the best dystopian teen fiction you’ll read for a long time! Roth has done Divergent justice by creating an equally brilliant sequel, something which is often hard to achieve. I can’t wait to see where Tris and Tobias will be heading next…

Insurgent is out now, published by Harper Collins. A big thank you goes to the publisher for providing me with a copy for review. This review was written as part of the #CANDORUK team! 🙂

To read my review of Divergent please click here.

Rating 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2012 16:22

    Yes, Insurgent really does jump right in and I agree that Roth jam packs her novels. #CandorUK has been a great ride too 🙂

  2. May 6, 2012 20:06

    Great review! So excited for book 3!

  3. May 7, 2012 15:36

    Fantastic review! CANNOT wait for book 3, it’s going to be amazing! 😀

  4. May 7, 2012 22:24

    Fab review 🙂 It’s going to be a looooooooonnnnnnnngggg wait for book 3 lol. I can’t wait for it though!!

Trackbacks

  1. A Belated May Summary « Book Monkey

Leave a Reply

