Skip to content

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

May 31, 2012

Sookie has a murder investigation on her hands. A young girl has died at a vampire party – and it looks as though her lover, Eric, might be responsible. Eric swears he didn’t do it, the police don’t believe him, and even Sookie isn’t so sure. Nor is she inclined to take his word for it, not having caught him enjoying the victim’s blood minutes before she was killed.

But something strange is going on. Why had Sookie been asked to come to the fateful party a few minutes early – just to catch Eric in the act? And why had the victim spiked her blood before approaching Eric? Was it simply because she wanted to be irresistible, or was it something more sinister?

Sookie will have to find out . . . but it’s the worst moment to investigate, as her Fae family are having troubles of their own and Sookie is, inevitably, drawn in. And there is one last complication. The cluviel dor her grandmother left her. It will grant her one wish, which could fulfil Sookie’s heart’s desire. The only problem is, she still doesn’t know what – or who – her heart truly desires . . .

 Anyone who knows me well will know that the Sookie Stackhouse series is one of my ultimate guilty pleasures and I look forward to a new book each year. With the news that Deadlocked will be the penultimate novel in the series, I was expecting something to really blow me away! Sadly, that was definitely not the case…

I’ve read a lot of other reviews online, mostly from other disappointed Sookie fans like myself, who just feel like this novel really lacks many things in comparison to Charlaine’s previous books. First thing’s first, there is a distinct lack of Eric and Bill, making for a very unhappy Book Monkey here. I love Sookie and Eric’s relationship and felt it took a complete dip this time around. When the premise of the entire novel seems to focus on him, you would think there would be much more Eric time! But no… Instead we are lumbered with the fae once again. I can’t help but feel that this series as a whole really started going down hill the moment Sookie’s fae family came into the mix. They just aren’t all that interesting.

The second thing is, the cluviel dor. In the previous book, Dead Reckoning, Sookie was left the mysterious fae object of the cluviel dor by her grandmother, which could grant her one wish for someone she loves. I was so excited about how Charlaine would work this into a new story, desperate to see exactly what Sookie would use it for. I’m not going to spoil it here for those of you who have yet to read it, but let’s just say I am ridiculously disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, I love the character she used it for, but COME ON! It was a terribly boring outcome, and one that I’m sure will disappoint many of you as well.

I adore Sookie, and I know some people were saying this was the book where she really comes to life again like the old days, but I have to disagree. For the most part, her personality is fine, but so many mundane things happened in this novel, that I was just desperate to flick on and get to the good stuff which was a long time coming!

It felt great being back in Sookie’s world again, but I think Charlaine really needs to step it up for the final book. It would be so sad to see this series end on such a dismal low like Deadlocked. I shall still remain a loyal fan, but alas, there is no hiding it: I am disappointed. There’s no doubting that with the series coming to an end now, Charlaine could have done something brilliant with this book, and it really lacked the spirit and charm of the earlier novels. I can’t help but feel like Charlaine has just lost her passion for Sookie’s world now, and that maybe bringing it all to an end now is perhaps for the best, as sad as I will undoubtedly be. Still, I’m excited to see how it will end, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a hell of a lot more Eric! Please?

Deadlocked is out now, published by Gollancz.

Rating 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2012 20:43

    I’ll just enjoy it anyway. I’ve been missing my Sookie time the past year.

    • May 31, 2012 20:45

      I’m sure you will! I have no doubt lots of Sookie fans will enjoy it… I still did. But as you can tell, I did find it really disappointing!

  2. May 31, 2012 20:48

    I preferred this to Dead Reckoning which was a let down for me. A lot of the negative reviews seem to be around the lack of romance which I don’t mind, I like Sookie’s crazy murder investigations. I do think it’s time the series comes to and end and this felt like it was setting up the plot for the final instalment.

    • May 31, 2012 22:01

      I like a good balance between the romance and the murder investigations… but this didn’t really have much of either I didn’t think. Oh well… here’s to hoping the final book will be great!

Trackbacks

  1. Dead Until Dark | A love affair…
  2. A Belated May Summary « Book Monkey

Leave a Reply

