Skip to content

A Belated May Summary

June 7, 2012

I am a terrible blogger who keeps forgetting to do these monthly summary’s at the moment so I apologise it is once again a little late! I have however read some fantastic books this month, so I hope that makes up for it! Certainly the one that has most surprised me has to be the Arthur C. Clarke Award winner The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers, which I absolutely loved! I can’t recommend it enough! Here is a quick summary of everything I read this month in order of how much I enjoyed them:

Book of the Month

The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers

I really hope I’ve made at least one person want to give this novel a shot from this review. I think it will probably make my list of favourite reads for the year, and it has stayed with me long since I turned the last page. I remember what it was like being a teenager and dealing with argumentative parents, and crushes on boys, just like Jessie, but I don’t even think I could begin to imagine what I would do if I was in her shoes facing decisions that no teenager should ever have to face.

The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers 

Insurgent by Veronica Roth 

The Panopticon by Jenni Fagan 

Snake Ropes by Jess Richards 

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris 

 

Plans for June

Coming up very shortly will be reviews of the superb new novel from China Mieville, Railsea, and a quick review of the sci-fi classic Fahrenheit 451 from Ray Bradbury who recently passed away. I’m hoping to also fit in The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus and The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker. Lots of exciting new books are coming out this month – I only hope I have enough time to fit them all in!! I hope you all read lots of nice books this month too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

