Skip to content

June Summary

July 6, 2012

Another slightly late monthly summary, but at least June’s is a pretty excellent round-up! I’ve read three excellent books, as you will see below. It has been a bit tricky deciding on my book of the month but I’m sure none of you will be surprised to find I had to go with China Mieville’s Railsea, just for the pure fun I had whilst reading it, and once again being left in complete and total awe of his incredible imagination. But The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker is also well worth the mention here, as it is a truly compelling read, and one I absolutely fell in love with. So if you have yet to read either, what are you waiting for?!  Guaranteed good reads is what they are. And for those of you with something of a whimsical side, you will almost certainly enjoy The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente, which I can’t recommend enough! I should also say I did pick up The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus, but have struggled to get into it, so whether or not I will pick it up again at some point I’m not entirely sure yet, but I do hate giving up on a book!

So here is everything I read and reviewed this month, in order of how much I enjoyed them:

Book of the Month

Railsea by China Mieville

I could go on forever about the little intricacies of this novel; from the humungous bunny rabbits to giant slithering earth worms, from pirates to salvage hunters. But you will have to trust me when I say there really is something for everyone within Railsea. I can’t remember the last time I had this much fun reading a book and it will definitely make my top ten favourite novels of the year. I don’t know if I can quite bear the thought of having to wait yet another year to see what craziness China Mieville will come up with next! But what I will be wishing for is that the world of the railsea won’t get left behind, and that maybe one day, we can all return to it for another unforgettable adventure.

Railsea by China Mieville 

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker 

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente 

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury 

Then by Julie Myerson 

Plans for July

Well I have literally just finished King of Thorns by Mark Lawrence, the sequel to Prince of Thorns, so you can expect a review of that very shortly! I’m currently reading The Dog Stars by Peter Heller, and am about to start Bereft by Chris Womersley, which I’m really excited about! I also need to read my bookseller’s book group selection for the month which is The Postman Always Rings Twice by James M. Cain – something I wouldn’t normally have picked up, so it will be interesting to see what I make of it! I hope you all have a lovely, and hopefully sunny July 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2012 12:52

    It sounds as though I need to get Railsea – I do love Mieville’s weirdness 🙂

Leave a Reply

