Skip to content

The return from an unplanned blogging break!

June 3, 2013

So I’m finally getting back into blogging after a 3 month hiatus! I apologise for the lack of warning for this and for neglecting you all! However, I thought I’d just give you a quick update of what’s been happening, and the reasons for this blogging break. I have recently moved and changed jobs! I’ve finally made the move from Cheltenham to Bath, after a year of saying how I’d love to live there. I also now work for my favourite independent book shop – Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights, a place I’ve loved visiting for the last couple of years! So as brilliant as it all is, it has been quite the upheaval and finding the time to blog whilst adjusting to this new life has been a little difficult, but I’m finally back! I only hope you haven’t all forgotten me already 🙂

I have lots of great reviews coming up, including The Round House by Louise Erdrich, Dark Eden by Chris Beckett, and I’m just about to finish Joyland by Stephen King. Please do leave comments and update me with the rest of you have been reading and enjoying lately! I feel slightly out of the blogging loop. And if you’re a Bath-based blogger in particular, let me know! 🙂

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2013 11:51

    I’m so HAPPY to see you’re back Emma!! I was wondering how you were keeping because I hadn’t heard from you in so long. But I’m really really glad that I’ll be seeing more posts from you!! I love the name of the new bookstore you’re working at!! You should write a post about your experience working there :).

    • June 3, 2013 15:28

      Aw thank you! 🙂 It’s so great to be back! I’ve missed blogging and chatting to other bloggers! Mr B’s is a fab place to work 🙂 Maybe I will write a post at some point…but for now..lots of books to review!!

      • June 3, 2013 15:31

        Will you be reviewing Emperor of Thorns? Have you gotten an advance copy if it? 🙂

      • June 3, 2013 15:34

        I haven’t yet…I’m going to get onto the publisher about it actually 🙂

  2. Alex in Leeds permalink
    June 3, 2013 18:58

    Oh my word, congratulations on getting a job at Mr B’s. 🙂

  3. Steve in the Library permalink
    June 4, 2013 03:23

    Welcome back! You have been missed!

  4. June 4, 2013 16:14

    Good to see you back, especially finding your blog was the reason I started mine. Also very happy to see you liked The Round House, not the most enjoyable but possibly the best book I’ve read in 2013

    • June 4, 2013 16:14

      Missed an ‘as’ in there somewhere!

    • June 4, 2013 20:01

      Thank you Robin! I had no idea my blog was the reason you created yours! That’s so lovely to know 🙂 I’ve been a little worried that everyone would have forgotten me by now in the blogging world, but it’s nice to see that’s not the case! Have you reviewed The Round House? I had no idea you read it! I must go find your review now! Such a great book isn’t it?

      • June 4, 2013 22:47

        I was searching for reviews of Volume 2 of the Demi Monde, and stumbled on your blog. I’d been writing reviews on Amazon for years but never had my own. I liked how yours was laid out, and thought I’d give it a try too. And here we are!

        I see you found my Round House review. The book has really got under my skin, the whole coming-of-age, made more complicated by try to find your whole community’s position in the world, is a theme I’ve never encountered before, and it’s wonderfully depicted. Such great writing throughout.

      • June 5, 2013 09:05

        Well I had no idea! 🙂 How lovely. I’m so glad you loved The Round House too!! Have you read her before?

      • June 5, 2013 21:55

        No. In fact, I nearly passed up this one too, but Sam asked me again, and I thought I’d take a punt. Glad I did.

Leave a comment