Skip to content

May Summary

May 31, 2011

Well this month I read 8 books which means May was definitely a good reading month for me. I read some brilliant books, a couple of which have definitely been added to my favourite ever reads! I have listed the reviews below in order of how much I enjoyed them, and you can click on the titles to read my reviews. But for now…

Book of the Month

When God Was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman

“It was so beautifully written and had such a unique voice to it that I loved it more than I ever thought I would. Sarah Winman has made me laugh out loud and brought tears to my eyes. She has made me so excited about this story that I’m dying to tell everyone they must read it now. But above all, she has made me miss these characters like they are my own flesh and blood.”

When God Was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman 

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan 

Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris 

The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong 

Embassytown by China Mieville 

Bitten by Kelley Armstrong 

Blossoms and Shadows by Lian Hearn 

Through Violet Eyes by Stephen Woodworth 

I also celebrated Book Monkey’s first ever birthday this month – and once again I’d love to say thannk you to everyone who has helped me make it what is today. I couldn’t have done it without you! To celebrate the birthday, I ran a competition to win a copy of Divergent. I’m pleased to say the winner was Michelle Jermy, who said she would choose to belong to Amity (peace) – “with more energy going into that than in terrorism, especially with recent turn of events on the news.” Congratulations!! Michelle has a brilliant YA blog which you can take a look at by clicking here.

New Books

Here is a little preview of some of the books I received from various publishers over the last few weeks, and a few I bought myself:

    Books I Bought…

    Tithe by Holly Black

    Annabel by Kathleen Winter

    Storm Front (Dresden Files 1) by Jim Butcher

   The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

    A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

Proofs Received from Quercus Publishers

Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon

Until Thy Wrath Be Past by Asa Larsson

The Vintage & The Cleaning  by Jeremy Chambers

Out of Sight by Isabelle Grey

Trieste by Daša Drndić

 The Dinosaur Feather by Sissel-Jo Gazan

Proof Copies received from HarperCollins Publishers…

The Map of Time by Felix Palma

August and Then Some by David Prete

The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield

Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

Random Proof Copies picked up at work…

The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Hunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey

The Western Mysterious: The Case of the Deadly Desperados by Caroline Lawrence

So obviously I have far too much reading to do this month! Thanks to Quercus and HarperCollins for sending me these wonderful books! I’ve also taken Patrick Rothfuss’s The Wise Man’s Fear out of the library, which is just short of 1000 pages, so I will probably be reading slightly fewer books in June! I’m also eagerly awaiting my signed edition of Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s The Midnight Palace to arrive from Waterstones.com!

No comments yet

Leave a comment